2016-17 National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students Announced

Twelve Edgemont seniors have been named National Merit Semifinalists for the 2016-17 school year, and twelve seniors have been commended, according to the recent announcement by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.  Semifinalists scored in the top one percent in their state on the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).  This year’s Semifinalists are Anshul Barnwal, James A. Brandfonbrener, Nikita Gupta, Michelle Kim, Alexander T. Lu, Pranav Parsi, Federico J. Reyes Gomez, Mitul Saha, Avery Salsberg, Michael Schwartz, Kasey Stern, and Jocelyn H. Wexler. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation also commended twelve Edgemont students for their scores. The 2016-17 Commended students are Edmond Chu, Kevin Ge, Tariq Kessaci, Anya Kothari, Rory N. McDermott, Alexander S. Paskov, Nikhil V. Rao-Pathuraju, Stefano A. Rozental, Deesha Shah, William J. Stephens, Audrey K. Suh, and Sheril Varghese.  Congratulations to all!