Elementary Schools. All traffic signs must be observed at all times. Bus stop areas in front of schools must be left free of cars.
Do not double park. No parking is permitted in the traffic circles. Cars must wait in single file to drop off or pick up students at curbside, only in the designated areas. Do not permit students to cross in front of or behind parked cars. Adults must remain in their vehicles. Residents are expected to keep sidewalks free of snow, leaves and trash so that students can use them when walking to and from school.
Parents are requested to park only in designated areas.
Junior/Senior High School. The speed limit on school property is 15 MPH at all times. Parking is not permitted in the traffic lane in from of the Administration Building or Gymnasium. All cars are to be parked in the appropriate parking lots.
Motorized Vehicles. Motorized go-carts, motor bikes and mopeds are prohibited on the school grounds. Parents are responsible for compliance with this policy.
New York State Law on Helmets. Children under the age of 14 are required to wear a safety helmet while operating a bicycle, riding as a passenger on a bicycle or in-line skating. Children under the age of 12 months are prohibited from riding as passengers on bicycles. Any parent or guardian who fails to abide by this law may be fined up to $50.
New York State Law on Seat Belts. All front seat passengers and children between the ages of 4-10 must use seat belts. Additionally, children under the age of 4 must be restrained in federally approved child safety seats. Drivers and front seat passengers who fail to abide this law may be fined up to $100.
Air bags are not meant to take the place of a lap and shoulder belt. Children under age 12 and short-stature adults can be seriously injured or killed when an airbag deploys. Children should ride in the back seat in vehicles with passenger-side airbags. Seat belts are required on school buses hired by the school district.
New York State Law on Stopped School Bus. "A vehicle overtaking or meeting a bus, being used solely for the transportation of children to or from school, which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging passengers, shall come to a complete stop, and remain stationary until such bus shall resume motion, or until signaled by the driver or policeman to proceed, providing such bus carries flashing red signal lights and signs designating it as a school bus are displayed as required by law."
Penalties for passing a stopped school bus can include a fine of up to $259, 5 points on your driver's license and/or 30 days in jail.